Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Re: Can't change country

Active Member
Andrii P Member Since: May 1, 2019
1011 of 1,867

Hi guys,

I just submitted my application for review but for some reason, it is Poland by default. I need to change to Ukraine, please. Many thanks.

Moderator
Bojan S Moderator Member Since: Mar 9, 2018
1012 of 1,867

Hi Andrii,

 

Your country has been updated to Ukraine. Feel free to add the rest of the information on your profile. Thank you!

~ Bojan
Untitled
Active Member
Claire A Member Since: May 2, 2019
1013 of 1,867

I'm trying to update my profile however I cannot verify my account with my number because I have a Malaysian number and I am only able to input a US address. Please advise.

Highlighted
Moderator
Goran V Moderator Member Since: Mar 24, 2017
1014 of 1,867

Hi Claire,

 

Are you currently located in Malaysia? Please confirm your location and our team will update it, thank you.


Untitled
Active Member
Agne V Member Since: May 2, 2019
1015 of 1,867

I recently signed up for Upwork and I am creating my profile. By default, my country is selected as Albania. I want to update it to Portugal but I cannot do it, the field is grayed out. Should I just submit the application with Albania as my country? Can you please help me out?

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
1016 of 1,867

re: " Should I just submit the application with Albania as my country? Can you please help me out?"

 

Please answer these questions:

1) What country were you in when you started creating your Upwork profile?

2) In what country do you actually live?

3) What country do you want to display as your place of residence on your Upwork profile?

 

Active Member
Agne V Member Since: May 2, 2019
1017 of 1,867
Hi Smiley Happy
I am living in Porto, Portugal. I was in Porto while creating my account, my computers clock was set up wrongly tho. I think this might have caused the problem. Thank you for your help!

Best,
Agne
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
1018 of 1,867

re: "I am living in Porto, Portugal. I was in Porto while creating my account, my computers clock was set up wrongly tho. I think this might have caused the problem. Thank you for your help!"

 

Honestly, Agne:

I just don't think Upwork's back-end "automatic identify what country a person is in" algorithm or software works very well. I think most people who face this problem do so through no fault of their own, and Upwork knows this automated identifier doesn't work very well.

Moderator
Bojan S Moderator Member Since: Mar 9, 2018
1019 of 1,867

Hi Agne,

 

We have updated it from our end to Portugal.

 

Please note that your profile must represent you as an individual and that all the information in your profile including your location needs to be accurate, truthful and verifiable. 

 

Let us know if you need further assistance. 

 

Thank you.

~ Bojan
Untitled
Active Member
Kristina M Member Since: May 2, 2019
1020 of 1,867

Hi lovely people. I seem to be facing the same issue as a lot of the users here - my location is set to United Kingdom by default and I need to change it to Bulgaria. Please help :-)

TOP KUDOED MEMBERS