🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » I'm looking to hire someone for a small proje...
Page options
fd6021e4
Community Member

I'm looking to hire someone for a small project, I'm getting a lot of phone calls and What's App's?

I just posted my first small job to UpWork.  I'm looking to test a simple SEO and website fix on Weebly first and then potentially continue to use this service for larger projects. 

As I'm new to this, I was wondering how so many people got my phone number and are pitching me through What's App, texting me and also phoning me! 

How can I remove my phone number from my profile? I can't seem to find it. 

Perhaps a question for an admin. 

Also, is there anyway to speak to someone live for help at UpWork? 

Many thanks!

Katy

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I was wondering how so many people got my phone number and are pitching me through What's App, texting me and also phoning me!"

This is completely unacceptable.

These freelancers are NOT supposed to be contacting you through any means other than by sending proposals through Upwork.

If you able to provide information about who contacted you outside of the established Upwork method, then Upwork can try to identify those individuals and remove them from the platform.

re: "How can I remove my phone number from my profile? I can't seem to find it."

Upwork does not display users' phone numbers on their profile pages.

If these people figured out your phone number, they must have done so through some other means.

BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Kathy,

Sorry you've received unsolicited contacts. On Upwork, other users can't see your name nor the phone number on your job posting unless you included those in the job description.