🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Misled by Client - Possible TOS violation
Page options
c_pinney
Community Member

Misled by Client - Possible TOS violation

I'm new to Upwork, submitted a propoal a while ago for a fixed rate project for $1,000 https://www.upwork.com/jobs/~018addfe9e50466e46, the client resplied and requested an interview outside the Upwork platform via phone. I've read the TOS and communication outside the Upwork platform is a violation so I followed up with the client requesting an interview confirmation via the platform. She assured me that was not necessary and that we were fine having a phone interview. After the phone interview she sent me an "offer" via Upwork messages but not an official job offer through the platform. I had a gut feeling this was sketchy but after I got the message and accepted, I received an invitation to join her Upwork agency so I assumed this was legit. The client proceeded to schedule a "team meeting" via Facebook and unfortunately I do not have a Facebook account so again I requested that this be handled in the platform. She then proceeded to explain that her business is on Facebook Workplace and that is where everything for her agency is handled.
Is this a violation of the TOS? Are clients allowed to post jobs for fixed rate projects on Upwork to lure people to their personal agency off the platform?
Again I'm new to Upwork so I'm hoping someone can shed some light on what happened here....

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

re: "Is this a violation of the TOS? Are clients allowed to post jobs for fixed rate projects on Upwork to lure people to their personal agency off the platform?"

An Upwork client IS allowed to post a job on Upwork and then have you meet or organize with their team using non-Upwork methods, such as Slack or Facebook.

But the client MUST pay you through Upwork only.

A client may not post a job on Upwork and then ask you to work for free, or pay you through some other means outside of Upwork.