🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Immigration and Charges
Page options
dasun-nirmitha
Community Member

Immigration and Charges

I'm a full-time freelancer residing in Sri Lanka & freelancing as a Technical Writer on Upwork. I currently charge $25/hr and basically manage all my finances through my earnings through fixed/hourly contracts on Upwork (which is doable given the living costs in SL)

I have plans on immigrating to Australia & surely I'd have to face spikes in my living costs. And, Australian Tech Writers on Upwork currently seem to charge around $70-$80/hr.

So, once I'm at Aussie can I simply raise my hourly rates to match that as well? Or would the sudden rise from $25 to $70 have adverse effects?

I'd be changing my Upwork location to Australia once I'm there so I'd be shown as an 'Australian freelancer' to any potential Upwork client and be competing with other Australian freelance writers.

3 REPLIES 3
colettelewis
Community Member

Dasun N wrote:

I'm a full-time freelancer residing in Sri Lanka & freelancing as a Technical Writer on Upwork. I currently charge $25/hr and basically manage all my finances through my earnings through fixed/hourly contracts on Upwork (which is doable given the living costs in SL)

I have plans on immigrating to Australia & surely I'd have to face spikes in my living costs. And, Australian Tech Writers on Upwork currently seem to charge around $70-$80/hr.

So, once I'm at Aussie can I simply raise my hourly rates to match that as well? Or would the sudden rise from $25 to $70 have adverse effects?

I'd be changing my Upwork location to Australia once I'm there so I'd be shown as an 'Australian freelancer' to any potential Upwork client and be competing with other Australian freelance writers.